26 replies to this topic

#1 Nicholas Watson

Nicholas Watson

• STV 3.0 Pro
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
Good

Posted 16 January 2012 - 07:14 PM

Hello and thank you very much for creating Sensible TableView - it was worth every penny and has saved me loads of time.

I am very new to iOS development (learning using iOS5 using Storyboards) and I have made extensive use of the search on these forums so far and being able to figure out the solutions to many of the issues I have been facing.

Usually I wouldn't ask for help but I am really struggling with this one. Basically, I am calling my cells with a bound key on each one.

What I would like is a "selector style" cell where when clicked, it will load a view of options, but with a search bar to filter down the results. The reason for this is there are 89,000 rows! I will be using a web service to perform the queries and return JSON (I don't need to know all of that though, I will figure that out myself!)

So far, I am using the code:

SCSelectionCell *locationCell = [SCSelectionCell cellWithText:@"Location" withBoundKey:@"location" withLabelTextValue:nil];
locationCell.tag = 6;
[section addCell:locationCell]

When the cell is clicked, I'd like to load a view with the search bar and as the user types, it will narrow down results and finally when they click on a result, it will return the value back to Sensible TableView.

I have added a view with a Search Bar and Search Display Controller as this looks like the most promising way to handle this, however it's the whole linking to/from TableView that I'm struggling to figure out!

Thank you VERY much to whoever is able to answer me and sorry for taking up your time.
  • Tarek likes this

#2 Nicholas Watson

Nicholas Watson

• STV 3.0 Pro
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
Good

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:33 AM

Been at this for 5 solid days now and still struggling - hopefully I'll get there eventually.